Some people think that the government provide free education at every level. However, some say that individuals should pay for their university education. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people are of the opinion that education should not be charged for any level, others, however, contend that university students should be responsible for paying educational fees themselves. While both viewpoints are valid, I would lean towards tuition-free education.

The argument in favor of charging for university education is not entirely baseless. One compelling reason is that university facilities can be prohibitively expensive. In order to provide students with a comprehensive curriculum, each university is required to make substantial investments in high-quality facilities, particularly academic buildings, research halls, and laboratories, which may come at a very high cost. Paying for tuition fees at university, therefore, can help students contribute to creating a better and a more well-rounded learning environment. In addition, paying for tuition fees can help them learn financial management skills. Due to the high costs of university education, students have to take their budget into consideration, which can ultimately help them to make wise spending choices and, by the same token, learn to manage their budget more effectively.

Nevertheless, I would still advocate that offering free education for all levels is a more viable approach. Firstly, a tuition-free education can provide every student with equal access to a high-quality learning environment. Since not all students can afford the tuition fees at a university level, those from impoverished families and mountainous areas, for instance, may find university fees excessively unaffordable, leading to dropping out midway through their studies. Charging no fee can help all students gain access to equal education, thereby alleviating social inequality while, at the same time, promoting equal access to education for all kinds of students. Secondly, free university education can equip students with better skills and offer them recognized qualifications, leading them to have better employment prospects in their future life. For example, graduates with a high-quality degree can get accepted into well-known and highly-respected occupations, such as lawyers or doctors, helping them to have a stable career trajectory.

In conclusion, while there are arguments in favor of paying for university education for the cost of learning facilities and financial management, I would argue that such tuition fees may not be entirely affordable to all students. A tuition-free education, on the other hand, not only provides students with equal access to education, but it also ensures a good qualification for students’ career prospects.