Some people think that the most important thing about being rich is it gives a person the oportunity to help other people. Do you agree or disagree?

Helping people in need is seen as the most crucial aspect of being wealthy. While this argument has some weight, I do not think that becoming rich is interconnected to assisting others. Instead, financial aid should be optional, not mandatory.

It is irrefutable that donating money to financially-disadvantaged people plays a significant role in society. By providing financial help to them, wealthy people can directly contribute to improving their lives. This especially comes in handy for those living in developing countries, where a certain group of people do not have access to basic needs, such as proper healthcare or education. Once those people are given an opportunity to pursue their education and receive some proper healthcare, they may have a potential to give back to their communities, creating a positive loop where every poor person gives back once he becomes affluent. In this way, community can benefit as whole.

However, the assumption that expecting wealthy people to aid those low-income individuals has several flaws. Amassing wealth requires years of hard work, sacrifice and emotional investment. Thus, expecting the rich to always donate a portion of their wealth to underprivileged people seems unfair. In most cases, affluent people work relentlessly to accumulate wealth, secure their financial situation, educate both themselves and their children. If people start treating financial aid as an expectation, it will lead to dependency among lower-income groups. As a result, they may get used to receiving aid and undermine their sense of responsibility and self-reliance.

Taking all these reasons into consideration, I firmly believe that donating should be viewed as a voluntary act rather than an obligation. When people give a portion of their wealth willingly and from the heart, it is more impactful and sustainable. Former Liverpool FC player Sadio Mané is a case in point. After becoming affluent through his high-level performance in football, he began giving back to the village where he grew up. As a result, local residents now have access to clean water, quality education, and proper healthcare services, which would not have been available without Mané’s contributions.

In conclusion, helping others is undoubtedly a humane act and fosters the community as a whole. However, financial help should not always be expected from the rich as it is a voluntary act not a mandatory one.