Some people think that the news media has become much more influential in people’s lives today and it is a negative development. Do you agree or disagree?

The effects of a development of the news media on society remain a source of controversy. From my point of view, I believe that this kind of technological advancement brings both advantages and disadvantages.

On the one hand, it is argued that the current news media have a serious impact on humans. First of all, there is a variety of misleading information on the Internet because the media, especially social media, is a tool that is free for most individuals meeting an age regulation. A number of people have the tendency to read news without selection; therefore, they may face forgery. For instance, a large number of untruth advertisements of the sale fanpage on Facebook have a lot of ways to attract customers such as elderly; thus they are likely to waste money for these products. Secondly, because of freedom, there are posts that bring adverse feelings. As a consequence, users have the risk of reading negative and junk contents such as the war, it may have an effect on their emotions and makes their life less positive.

On the other hand, the advancement of the new media is a useful achievement. The creation of this tool helps humans not only update news fastly but also become more knowledgeable. For example, in the last few decades, printed newspapers were the most common form of conveying information; however, nowadays people have a chance to access more online news websites and the diversity of information. Moreover, it is an effective way to break down language barriers. Because of technological development, each news will be translated into a number of languages; therefore, people can read news about different cultures and learn about other lives of communities around the world.

In conclusion, the news media play an important role in developing social aspects; however, each individual should be aware of the riskiness of a number of negative news on the Internet to generate a civilized community.