Some people think that the news media has become much more influential in people’s lives today and it is a negative development. Do you agree or disagree?

Some group of people assume that newspapers and television channels have a strong influence on human lives and contribute to the negative development in the contemporary world. I partially agree with the given statement, although mass media leads to a corrupt worldview, this trend has a positive impact, due to fostering public awareness of global problems.

The first and foremost problem, caused by the advent of the news media is the potential to manipulate the nation’s minds and opinions. Since there are numerous available sources of information, psychologically, exposure to news media can be akin to the process of brainwashing, as it tends to replace individual judgments with media-established ideas. As, in the realm of politics, influential newspapers, TV programs, and online websites may reveal personal foibles and even fabricate false rumors or scandals to tarnish the image of political candidates during elections. As a result, such practices undermine social equity and democracy by depriving voters of the ability to think independently, along with total controlling their minds.

On the other hand, the invention of mass media has brought a positive effect on today’s society. Indeed, through news and reports, it can receive valuable information daily. For instance, regional newspapers or radio channels often offer forecasts of weather and traffic conditions during rush hours, enabling residents to plan their travel schedules and routes efficiently. Moreover, reporting on global problems, such as epidemics, as well as natural disasters raises people’s awareness, resulting in the need to improve healthcare systems, environment conversation efforts, and education.

To conclude, the demerits of the news media override the merits. Although it provides useful and practical data to the audience, it negatively affects people more, including an unbalanced life, full of misunderstandings about social conflicts.