Some people think that traditional classroom education is better than online learning. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ongoing debate over whether schools should adopt distance-learning systems, with many contending that online teaching is far more efficient and flexible compared to traditional classes. Personally, I take issue with this notion, as remote learning cannot replace real-time guidance that conventional classrooms provide.

The main reason for my disagreement is that online learning cannot constantly offer instant feedback by instructors. Since students spend the majority of their time at the schools, it would be much easier for teachers to monitor the perfomance of their students and help them overcome occuring educational challenges during a learning process. Hence, not only does it align with students’ cognitive development, but it also enables them to gain emotional support and motivation from their teachers in person. In Japan, for instance, despite immense technological advancements, the local authorities are continuing to rely on the conventional educational system, largely due to its high efficiency and credibility. Without such supervision, students are more likely to struggle to cope with academic difficulties and suffer from distinct mental disorders such as depression, anxiety or burnout.

Conversely, there are also some ancillary benefits of virtual learning that merit brief acknowledgement; one such advantage is the flexibility and convenience of remote learning. As most online lessons are recorded and available on the internet, students, especially those with hectic schedules, can manage their time properly by setting such lessons on apt times for them. Moreover, it also provides an opportunity for many people from underprivileged backgrounds to acquire knowledge and cultivate distinct skills they want to master. Ibrat academy, an online learning platform in Uzbekistan, provides a pertinent example: by offering free virtual courses, a vast range of sources and assistance from professional instructors, the platform enables many individuals to study free of charge and develop essential prowesses. Consequently, it substantially enhances literacy rates and partly mitigates pressing national issues such as poverty.

In conclusion, although distance-learning can confer many advantages, it cannot replace conventional classrooms given the lack of supervision and support from teachers. Only by integrating the aspects of contemporary technology with traditional classroom environments can governments secure the sustainability of educational systems.