Some people think that traditional games are better than modern games in helping children develop their abilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The importance of modern games seems to be a widespread concern throughout the world. Some people believe that modern games help children expand varieties of skills, while others think that traditional games can be more efficient for developing such skills. This essay will discuss both sides of the idea and give my personal opinion.

On the one hand, many people argue that modern games require players to solve problems quickly and multitask. What I mean is that by playing online games individuals gain more experiences, which help them improve their digital literacy skills. Moreover, video games such as war games or race games can develop hand-eye coordination and reaction speed. According to a survey conducted in Turkey, many games challenge or puzzle, so children learn how to think quickly and find solutions faster. Thus, modern games can help people with problem solving skills, eye-hand coordination and problem solving techniques.

On the other hand, others believe that traditional games contribute to skills that modern games often cannot provide, which I personally agree with. For example, when children play activities like hide and seek, board games or team sports encourage real life interaction and communication. Children learn how to cooperate with others. These social skills make them build relationships later in life. In addition, traditional games help them stay away from technology and make them see the real world. Therefore, these are the reasons why I support the idea that children can develop skills through traditional games.

In conclusion, as stated above, although both views have valid arguments, I believe that it is possible to grow our skills by playing traditional games, rather than modern games.