Some people think that universities should focus on providing graduates with practical skills for the workplace, while others believe that the main function of universities is to give access to theoretical knowledge. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some believe that educational institutions like universities should enhance their focus on implementing practical skills in their curriculum, while others prefer theoretical knowledge instead. Personally, I believe that universities should reach an equilibrium state where both aspects are fully covered.

Practical skills undoubtedly have a significant impact on one’s professionalism. If a person can’t execute the idea and come up with the product, then he certainly can’t be considered an expert in his field. Employers will not appreciate that kind of employee no matter how brilliant his ideas are. For example, a friend of mine wanted to become a software engineer, but he was unable to develop the entire project even though he knew the theoretical part perfectly. For that reason he has not got a single offer from recruiters. Thus, a graduate without skills to execute the project to the final stage is not demanded among the employers.

However, theoretical knowledge is considered to be foundational in any profession. Without knowing the basis, it is impossible to become truly proficient, as it may look like an attempt to create an airplane without knowing the fundamental physics laws. For example, in a certain fields like engineering or medicine it is impossible and even dangerous for one’s health to practice without being aware of the possible outcomes that are taught in theory. Therefore, learning the underlying principles is the first step in becoming an expert.

Ultimately, ideal graduate is the one who has both knowledge and the ability to execute that knowledge to the final stage. Which means that this student will be in high demand among employers. High employment rates will benefit both universities and their students, whose parents are spending enormous amounts of finances in order to give a proper education to their children. As a result, balance is the perfect strategy which benefits both sides.

In conclusion, even though it may seem as either practical or theoretical incline is the best strategy, after evaluation of pros and cons it becomes clear that the most optimal way is equilibrium.