Some people think that universities should focus on providing graduates with practical skills for the workplace, while others believe that the main function of universities is to give access to theoretical knowledge. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While some argue that university should give access to knowledge for its own sake, I firmly believe that university should only provide students with the information and skills needed in the workplace.

On the other hand, many argue that the true function of a university is to provide knowledge for its own sake, as studying theoretical subjects fosters critical thinking and creativity. This is because disciplines such as music, art, and history require students to analyze complex concepts, and view problems from multiple perspectives. Consequently, these skills can assist in the workplace. For example, when graduates analyze historical art they are forced to use all knowledge and understand the culture and political context of the era. As a result, student will has broaden knowledge and indelible analytics skills. However, I believe that university should solely provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace, because students can analyze art, music, and history at home.

On the other hand, university should only provide theoretical knowledge and skills that are mandatory in the workplace. Additionally, I believe that university should give more knowledge correlated with the job, because students can analyze tasks profoundly at home and foster critical thinking, while at university students will gain knowledge that is needed. For instance, in the Kazakhstan NU only teaches theoretical knowledge and skills, providing more time to self-studding, which increased both level of satisfaction and critical thinking.

In conclusion, although providing knowledge for its own sake can foster critical thinking, I strongly believe that university should only provide students with the information and skills needed in the workplace.