Some people think that using mobile phones is harmful to students, while others believe it is useful for education. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is widely believed that smartphones have a negative impact on the younger generation, while others argue that they are significant for learning. This essay will examine both perspectives before presenting my own view.

One of the primary reasons why smartphones are considered harmful to adolescents is their psychological influence. Many pupils spend a significant amount of time for doomscrolling, leading to serious concerns. For instance, many contents in the apps like TikTok and Instagram often use manipulative techniques, as they use emotional appeal or different stereotypes to influence behaviour. They are often target to the vulnerable groups, who are susceptible to these media. As a result, individuals will experience serious mental health issues, including anxiety, insecurity and low self-esteem.

On the other hand, smartphones can also play a beneficial role in improving academic performance. Many students, for example, may have extra questions about one specific topic, so they do not ask them due to a lack of confidence. Eventually, they may rely on digital platforms, which provide full explanation. For instance, there is a teacher on Youtube called Pavel Victor, who conducts certain physical experiments, which allow students to acquire knowledge at their own pace.

In conclusion, although using smartphones can provide valuable educational support, I firmly believe that they may have a detrimental effect on teenagers’ mental health.