Some people think that young people should be required to do unpaid work helping people in the community. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There exists an opinion that voluntary work to improve the quality of life of people in society should be compulsory for youngsters. Even though this approach may result in prolonged processes, I contend that any demerits can be eclipsed with possible merits. This essay aims to further elaborate on my opinion.

On the one hand, the primary downside of this strategy is its ability to weaken the efficiency outcomes of community projects. In particular, unlike senior individuals, young people are inexperienced, which mandates organizers to endeavor to prepare them with instructions of each specific voluntary work. As a result, the process may be lengthened or even failed to deliver the intended target, ultimately defeating the alleged purpose of helping others.

On the other hand, this practice also highlights the increased sense of social responsibility in the youth. Specifically, voluntary doings that benefit citizenry in their local community assist youngsters to cultivate sympathy and gain in-depth knowledge about societal issues. Consequently, this fosters a sense of duty towards supporting others and contributes to the formation of responsible citizens. Moreover, mandatory community service provides considerable benefits in terms of skills acquisition. Particularly, volunteer work necessitates communication skills and problem-solving abilities, which are invaluable in both personal and professional life. To illustrate, students volunteering at the hospital need to excel at communication and team building, which leads to young people enhancing their interpersonal skills, teamwork, and leadership.

In conclusion, I reiterate that although volunteer work can be extended with the attendance of young individuals, requiring them to be involved in these projects is an overall positive method. Where possible, it should be tailored to match the resilience of the youth.