Some people think that young people should choose their professions themselves. Others believe that their parents should choose for them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Professionalism matters to every individual who wishes to gain something in the future. Younger generation are very exciting group of people who love to explore. Other people think that parents should decide on what career should their children have. Others believe young people should be allowed to make their own choice on the career they want. This essay will discuss the importance of both sides.

There are various reasons as to why children should be allowed to make their own choice on profession. Firstly, young people love to explore their own abilities. Allowing them to decide on their own will bring more interest and involvement in their work. American psychologist once said a career chosen by a parent is this own and not for any other. Secondly, children are hard to deal with especially during this age beginning adulthood. It may take a very long time for this group of people to listen to advise they are given. Convincing them may put mental pressure on parents so letting them make their decision is healthy for guardians. Additionally, everyone should be given a chance to make their choice irrespective of the age. This is for the comfortability and peace of oneself. One psychoanalyst once said in his BBC interview that every profession is a call and one only answers to a call that they’re comfortable with.

Similarly, parents should be given chance to decide for their children careers. One reason for this decision is because they are their mentors. Mentors always know what is best for you and they strive towards perfection. The decision they make are considered the best. Because of this ,they will always make good choices for their children. Another reason is because young generation are considered reckless. This age group are very quick to make decisions without considering the consequences. This may lead them to choose careers which might bring regrets in the future. Parents have lived long and seen enough. They always take their time and look on both sides before they make any choice. With this advantage, they are the best people to decide for children.

To sum it up, I am of the opinion that young people should be allowed to choose their profession because of the variety of reasons that I have provided above.