Some people think "vertical "city is the best, where people live and work in tall buildings. Others think "horizontal" city is better, where there are few tall buildings. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some experts suggest that high-rise buildings should be built in the cities and towns since worlds population are increaing day by day, while others opine that low rise buildings are better for health and environment. This essay will analyze both sides of the arguments and provide my opinion.

There is a wide range of reasons why nowadays people prefer vertical city over horizontal city. To begin with, the burgeoning population in the earth are encountering scarcity of land. If the cities can constructed with newly designed skyscrapers and towers it would accommodate a huge proportion of population. For instance, commercial cities like New York, Shanghai or Toronto have to provide shelter and working space to a mass population where vertical city is ideal to be built. Moreover, when cities and towns are designed with multistoried buildings, people can get open spaces for parks and play grounds, which is very important for the citizens for their leisure time. Studies showed that people those live in the urban areas with more parks and play grounds are less likely has cardiac diseases.

On the other hand, opponents argue that living n horizontal cities means to live more closely to nature. They believe that single storied building with open space in front and back is preponderant for physical and mental health of the people. For example, many individuals love to do gardening in front or back yard which is excellent for both physical and mental health. Additionally, low rise buildings are suitable to minimize the loss from various natural disasters. The countries that encounter frequent earthquakes should built single storied wooden buildings to reduce hazards and loss of people’s lives and properties.

In conclusion, by examining the both views, I would say that a city should be designed according to its population, commercial activities and climate which is important for the economic growth of a country.