Some people today prefer to get advice online for medical problems and do not want to visit a doctor. Why is this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Some individuals claim that people recently have a tendency to get advice for health problems by browsing the internet instead of visiting a doctor. In my perspective, this phenomenon might be caused by the development of Internet of things, which offers people to easily access numerous information that meets their needs. I am of the opinion that the trend could bring detrimental effects, in general.

There are some leading contributors to pursue citizens to make the most of the internet to solve their medical problems. The accessible information on the online platform provides people an advantage in searching and receiving consultation immediately at home. For example, when someone had a slight stomachache, they often texted their symptom to a search engine in order to ask what problem they might have the ability to suffer, and then they tended to predict their health relying on one type of health problem that was nearly similar to their health condition. Taking advantage of this activity, they could diagnose health problems without spending money and also saving time.

This trend might bring some severe positive issues in the long run. When people are reliant on the result that they found on the internet, their health might become weaker because they did not receive a suitable treatment for their precise problem. The information about healthcare in the online platform is generally vague, with one symptom it can bring out multiple results. Therefore, it is difficult to predict accurately the health problem if we just base it on advice on the internet instead of receiving the direct diagnosis from the doctor.

In conclusion, while this development could be attributed to the convenience of accessible information on the internet, which might have individuals saving money and time, I believe that this trend could bring substantial disadvantages for human wellness as this information might not be accurate for people’s health conditions. .