Some people today prefer to get advice online for medical problems and do not want to visit a doctor. Why is this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

In this day and age, getting advice for medical problems from the Internet rather than visiting a doctor has become more common among modern individuals. This essay will outline the reasons and whether this issue imposes a positive or negative development.

Firstly, there are many reasons that explain why looking for advice from the Internet has become more popular in health problems. In fact, the convenience of the Internet allows citizens with a click of mouse to access much useful information with lower costs. For example, BBC news provides a number of free tips and home treatment of daily diseases for residents in order to rescue at home. Furthermore, it is undeniable that people can obtain information in various ways such as reading reviews of medicines or methods from others on Facebook. For these reasons, I think there are various reasons leading to the preference of getting advice from the Internet rather than going to the doctor.

However, this development has brought about a lot of negative impacts on individuals due to fake news and security concerns. It can be seen that the open space on the Internet allows people willingly upload information to social platforms, leading to the occurrence of invalid news. For instance, during Covid 19 pandemic, many fake information about self-rescue methods without having vaccines made individuals’ condition worsen. Also, the safety of residents are threatened by cybercrimes who exploit people’s gullibility.

In conclusion, due to the widespread use of the Internet, many people have tried to research medical information online rather than seeking advice from medical practitioners. I believe that this development is negative due to its profound impact on each patient and the well-being of society as a whole.