Some people today prefer to get advice online for medical problems and do not want to visit a doctor. Why is this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

It is thought that since the internet has provided information related to health concerns, it is becoming unnecessary for individuals to get their health checked by professional doctors. This trend is largely due to the widespread sharing of medical content on the internet, and it is decidedly a detrimental shift.

One primary reason that people prefer internet advice to doctor visits is that they can easily find medical advice shared over the internet. Indeed, individuals can now easily search for information about various illnesses ranging from physical to psychological concerns with a click of a button. For example, a person with flu symptoms can find suggested treatments, and preventative measures through a simple Google search, eliminating the need for a doctor’s appointment. Another supporting argument is the tremendous cost related to doctor visits. Indeed, going to a hospital can be pricey, especially for low-income individuals, as people often have to pay for a host of costs ranging from the obvious ones, such as healthcare equipment, diagnostic fee to transportation costs and even parking fees. This financial burden is the reason why people do not want to seek professional help regarding their health issues.

Some might argue that online websites often provide in-depth information and medical insights that doctors can hardly share during relatively short visits, and that they can successfully cure their illnesses at home using this online advice, reducing the substantial financial burden. Although this is true in the case of mild illnesses such as having a cold or normal fever, this line of reasoning does not stand up to scrutiny when it comes to serious health issues. By relying solely on online content, it is impossible to self-diagnose and treat life threatening health concerns such as lung cancer, blood infection, and brain tumors. In these cases, professional medical assistance from doctors, nurses and highly advanced equipment can offer practical help, saving people’s lives. Therefore, the trend of getting online advice is not sound in serious cases and should be reserved only for minor health problems.

In conclusion, the proliferation of online health-related content and the heavy costs associated with traditional doctor visits are two main reasons for the decline in hospital visits. Personally, while this trend can be somewhat beneficial to minor medical worries, people should meet with doctors to get their health diagnosed properly. Ultimately, the government should subsidize people’s medical fees, encouraging timely professional consultations.