Some people work for the same organization for all their working life. Others think that is better to work for different organizations. Discuss both these views and give own your opinion.Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Some people develop their entire professional career working for the same company whereas others are more prone to pass from one company to another as soon as they grasp the chance. Personally, I believe the two approaches have strengths and weaknesses and one should use both and try to find the best trade-off based upon the career phase that one is living.

The reasons behind the strategy that people choose for their working life are various and dependent on several factors.

If one work hard and for a long period for the same company, they may be likely promoted to roles with increasing responsibilities and thus also gain more benefits. At that point, one could not feel convenient to leave although they should be aware of the risk of being stuck in that position without any further progress.

On the other hand, some people may prefer to switch for other companies as soon as they see the right opportunity to leave. They may want to work elsewhere looking for a higher salary, a different environment to have new stimula or living in another city. This attitude can lead to a more dynamic life and to a diversification of the professional profile, however, it may not assure to succeed in obtaining more relevant roles.

In order to have a solid and satistfying career, I sustain that one should try to work for different companies in the early party of their work life, so to get involved into various activities and acquire several professional experiences. Once they will have reached a certain age and experience, they should choose a company where to settle and try to scale up the organizational pyramid. This is exactly what I have done, I have worked for the first ten years in three different companies, then I joined a startup that appreciated my varied background and hired me as chief technology officer.

In conclusion, the approach to have a remarkable professional career can be of two types: one more conservative that sees one person employed by the same organization for life and the other one characterized by a constant change of company. I advise to mix the two and try to find the best trade-off based on the person’s age.