Some products can be made quickly by a machine. Other items take a long time to be made by hand. As a buyer, which do you prefer and why? Give specific details and examples in your answer.

Massive production of goods are made with machines since industrialization. In the event that I put myself in the shoe of a purchaser, I prefer handmade products because of its quality, complexity and sophistication. I will further elaborate in details below.

Based on my experience, I observed many watches worn by my acquaintance. For example, I found many luxurious watches such as Richard Mille which are handmade and it is known for its precise carving, sophistication of the accessories within the gadget. This is something cannot be produced with the machine because machine is programmed with algorithms and code; it lacks of human intelligence and craftmanship. Typically, machines produce good massively and these products are indistinguishable as all items are created as similar in their outlooks.

There is no zero-defect in the computer systems and this means the products generated by the machines may have be faulty or imperfect for a few out of many products in its production. For instance, the laptop may have dead pixels or cracked screen and these issues are common. I opine that if the products are handmade under the attention and care of the maker, these faultiness can be minimized.

In conclusion, I agree that handmade goods are of better quality, however, the price can be exorbitant because of the workmanship. Given the option, I rather to pay more for a handmade merchandise if I can afford. I believe handmade goods are durable and aesthetically designed. For one, my Timberland shoe which I bought few years ago was perfectly sewn and was very durable.