Some say schools should focus on academic subjects, while others believe they should also teach life skills. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the fast-changing world we live in today, education is often viewed as the key to opportunities. Whether schools teach academic subjects or life skills is the debate in society. In my opinion, the core purpose of schools is to help students with both skills.

For centuries, academic subjects have been playing a vital role, as they are the foundation of education. These subjects enhance students’ intelligence. For example, mathematics prompts students to think clearly and respond properly when solving a mathematical equation. These kinds of subjects shape young minds’ critical thinking, thereby becoming intelligent. For these reasons, schools focus on academic subjects, such as mathematics, physics, as well.

However, in the world outside the classroom, other skills such as communication, problem-solving, or resilience, which schools often overlook, are the most important. Even people who have higher intelligence may struggle with reducing their stress levels. For example, communication skills play a crucial role in teamwork when finding a stable job, as opposed to knowledge.

In my opinion, schools prioritize teaching both academic subjects and other life skills. Although a knowledgeable person who is not able to develop communication skills or teamwork may not find a desired job, he or she might not pursue his or her career. Otherwise, extroverted people can also struggle with continuing their work if they do not have proper knowledge in a field.

In conclusion, some think schools should educate students in academic subjects, but others think they should teach life skills. I think schools have to be responsible for both of them.