Some say that reading newspapers and watching TV news is a waste of time, because it has no direct connection with people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently it is believed that reading newspapers and following the news on TV is an unproductive activity due to its lack of close relation to individuals lives. I completely agree with this statement and I will explain some reasons in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, following the news takes up a lot of time and often does not yield any significant feedback. This time could be invested in something that is truly useful. For example, instead of this, we can invest this time in sports, like going to the gym. It will have a more long-term benefit and positive impact on the quality of life and health. Furthermore, spending time in front of the TV and focusing on negative news like political issues, terrorism, or war would lead to anxiety and stress from helplessness. A better way would be devoting this time with family members.

Secondly, most of the reports tell about events that take place in other countries or areas far from the everyday life of the ordinary person. For instance, political events or economic problems in other countries rarely affect the reader’s personal life, especially if he does not work-related field. In addition, a person reading such information often finds it has no impact on their work or studies. It is just information noise that provides no meaningful benefit.

In conclusion, I believe that consuming news through newspapers or TV can be a waste of time since much of the news is sensationalized and disconnected from people’s daily lives. More benefits would be spending this time in the company of members or through physical activities.