Some say that reading newspapers and watching TV news is a waste of time, because it has no direct connection with people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The debate about the indispensable role of a variety of news sources remains to be a hot topic among people worldwide. And people may argue that neither reading newspapers nor watching TV news is worth spending time as it has no relevance in our life, although I completely disagree with this view due to their benefits to keep people informed and active participants of society. I think there are other alternatives that are more appropriate to read news. Thus, that reading newspapers and watching TV news regularly have been critical in our lives. Firstly, these types of media allow people to stay updated with world affairs. Not only can people be aware of local news, but also they can be informed about what’s happening in any corner of the globe, which has seemed impossible many years ago. Secondly, just reading news from magazines or watching them via television can contribute to active social community. To be more precise, this practice can increase awareness of different issues, problems, or stimulate engaging in a range of projects to sort out problems like environmental or animal conservation. As a result, more informed people can cooperate with other like-minded ones with the higher purpose of creating inclusive and harmonious news.

Notwithstanding, other sources of news should be taken into consideration as well. In this regard, social media platforms can be a proper example in this case, since they don’t require subscriptions like newspapers and a person doesn’t wait for the time of news. Programs like on televisions, platforms like Facebook and Instagram provide convenience. One can find any types of news easily with just one click with a certain length. Another reason why I believe these platforms are worth more spending time on news is that they give people the opportunity to share their own opinions towards a particular news on a common section.

To conclude, while I do not agree that reading newspapers and watching TV news just wastes time due to their benefits, to be informed and forming an active social community, I reckon that other relative ones like social media platforms are worth spending time on since they ensure convenience and a quick way to be aware of news globally.