Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university. What are the advantages or disadvantages for their study?

Having a break after high school is becoming an increasingly popular decision among graduates. Although traveling or working a period of time before studying in college can bring benefits, the drawbacks of the issue should be noticed.

On the one hand, school leavers can derive various advantages when they go to travel or work before going to university. First, the fact is that a break between completing high school and going to university can help students feel relaxed and have good preparation. Traveling or working also helps us avoid pressure due to many years of continuous learning. In fact, young student are prone to exhaustion and lose their motivation when studying too much. Second, young people can learn many things, broaden their knowledge, or gain new skills through experiential learning. The truth is, that those traveling abroad can learn a new language, while others who obtain an internship lesson stand a golden chance to acquire soft skills.

On the other hand, young students are likely to encounter difficulties when they take a gap year. One of these problems is delaying academic knowledge caused by spending a year off school. It is understandably almost impossible for young people can enjoy their vacation but also think about studying in college. As a result, school leavers may have to face the challenge of catching up with their peers. Besides, the life outside university campus will prove to be both mentally and physically challenging for inexperienced students. With this in mind, if young high school graduates don’t prepare enough good for such difficult tasks, they can suffer from serious consequences.

In conclusion, taking a break after high school can bring many benefits, however, this also causes a few problems and makes it harder for them to adjust to their educational life.