Some schoolchildren dislike learning maths. What might be the reasons for this? What might be the best ways to make learning maths enjoyable for schoolchildren?

It is true that some schoolchildren do not like mathematics. There are several reasons why this is the case, and I believe that there are several ways to ignite children’s interest in learning math.

One potential reason why students dislike learning math is its complexity. Mathematical language involves technicality, abstract concepts, and symbols, which intimidate young learners. Terms like “denominator,” “polynomials,” or “functions” can be good examples that might seem complicated. As a result, students may lose interest in studying this subject. Another reason could be that teachers’ boring teaching methods make the subject even more boring. Traditional teaching methods focus on memorisationand repetitive exercises that make math dull, which, in turn, discourages young students from exploring the subject with intrinsic motivation.

On the other hand, integrating technology into teaching math could make children’s learning experience more enjoyable. Teachers can utilize apps like Kahoot to make the lessons more engaging, as these platforms offer games to review what students have learned. These apps boost the sense of competition, with their leaderboards showing the top students. Moreover, teachers should reward the top-achieving students frequently, and this further motivates other students who lag behind their peers to study harder and get higher marks than their high-achieving counterparts. If these steps are taken, students may enjoy their math learning experience.

In conclusion, the complex nature of math and boring teaching methods demotivate young students from learning it. However, incorporating technology into teaching methods and rewarding top students would encourage students to learn the subject enthusiastically.