Some schools are no longer teaching children how to write with a pen. Do you think children should learn handwriting skills?

Handwriting was the way to study for thousands of years. Humans consulted with the pen and the paper for centuries in order to study. However, new technological devices have appeared in today’s world. For instance, iPads, laptops and desktops. They include many software for word processing Such as Microsoft Word. The existing of those has changed the traditional way of learning, which is using the pen and the paper. Some schools have replaced the pen and the paper with such devices and software. Handwriting improves student’s learning abilities, and doesn’t affect their health and moralities in comparing with modern devices.

Handwriting is better than typing due to, traditions, attention, and retaining information. For many years handwriting was the way to learn. Learning with the pen and the paper never was an issue to gain knowledge. Handwriting activates some parts of the brain, which is going to force the student to focus. On the other hand, typing does not require that much of effort. Finally, many scientific research papers have proved that handwriting is better for retaining information. Many studies have showed that student who use handwriting in taking notes are remembering more information and for longer periods.

devices and screens can affect student’s eyes, attention, and morality. Unlike handwriting, you will need screen to see what to write. This has an impact on children’s eyes health in long term. Additionally, laptops and smart devices in general have many applications and require Internet, and this will present two issues. In one hand, student can be distracted from studying and learning. For instance, they might watch a cartoon or playing online video games. In the other hand, it can affect the student’s morality. For example, students may end up in adult’s content websites which going to affect student morality.

To summarize, schools shouldn’t replace handwriting with modern devices, due to the advantages of handwriting which include better information memorizing and attention. Moreover, for the student’s health, learning and moralities.