Some schools are no longer teaching children how to write with a pen. Do you think children should learn handwriting skills?

In today’s digital world, some schools stop teaching students handwriting skills. However, I do think it is necessary for children to learn penmanship which could benefit them in many aspects.

There are two main advantages of acquiring handwriting skills. Firstly, writing by hands helps improve children’s academic performance. When kids are using a pen to write their ideas or compose a story on paper, they are more engaged in this process which makes them focused and increses their attention span. As a result, through taking notes with pens and highlighters, students could grasp and gain the knowledge more efficiently, so they are more likely to have higher grades. Furthermore, handwriting skills is beneficial for children’s mental health. The experience of writing on paper, compared to typing on keyboard, is more tactile and therapentic. When touching the smouth texture and watching the curvy lines, children could absorb themselves in this activity which soothes their nerves and calm down their minds.

Even though many cutting-edge technologies such as speech-to-text softwares are transforming the way that people write, it is impossible to replace panmanship with typing or digitalization. What people should concern about is how to avoid the possible drawback of digital writing, like the laziness caused by anto-completion and cheating in the online tests. In contrast, writing on paper requires students to memorize and input on their own, without the timely correction from artificial intelligence. That’s why handwriting still has to exist and be taught to our next generations.

In conclusion, while it is worthwhile letting children to embrace the digital world, handwriting skills still play an indispensable role in our daily life.