Some schools teach school children to study international news. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an option that global news should be taught as a subject at secondary school. However, there are those who disagree, saying it can be just a waste of school years. I will discuss both these opinions and agree with the former.

One of the reasons why people oppose including international news as a subject at school is that it can be a distraction from essential ones. Studying widespread news, like any other educational field, requires students’ time and attention to make an analysis. If students are always busy searching and understanding the latest news, which updates every hour, then learners cannot give proper focus to fundamental subjects such as math, physics, their mother tongue, and art. Another drawback is that students may read or watch inappropriate news for their age. There are several websites and channels where people realize murderous news and rumors about global problems in the world without checking the data, as a result, many students get into trouble.

Nevertheless, I think studying what is going on in the world at secondary school age may expand their knowledge about global issues. For instance, students who read the news from different countries can learn about various cultures, traditions, and economic states; they can also easily interact with people of different backgrounds. Of course, it might be beneficial for students planning to study abroad. Moreover, newspapers help students connect with their community and make their bonds stronger. When they see the events taking place in their city, it makes the young generation feel a sense of belonging where they live.

To sum up, studying international news at school age, in my opinion, should be added as it helps to gain more knowledge about the world and local events. Despite disadvantages such as distracting from other important subjects and the possibility of reading wrong news.