Some schools teach school children to study international news. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been much controversy about whether offering international news in school brings more benefits or drawbacks. In my opinion, this borders on more benefit than harm.

It is undeniable that international political news can become a tedious subject, especially for students who do not pay any attention to politics. This is because schoolchildren may likely be lured into the vibrant class atmosphere that global news lessons may not offer. Moreover, students may struggle to acquire qualified knowledge of this worldwide-related news in case the inherent compulsory subjects such as mathematics, history, or literature are not ensured to have high academic results. Therefore, mounting pressure can be encountered by students.

However, I believe there are stronger benefits to studying international news, including fostering more foreign friends and exposure to new cultures. As for the former, global news lessons can help them to update the latest worldwide trends. This also means they can easily find foreign friends that have the same interests as them, and expand their relationship all over the world, not just limited to their country. For the latter, through global news courses, knowledge and exposure to novel traditions and cultures can stimulate curiosity and enthusiasm among students. This is because almost every people desire to find a novel experience and environment, especially adventurous learners.

In conclusion, it is apparent that global news lessons bring more advantages, featuring a friend-circle expansion and the acquisition of the new-cultural knowledge. With the provision of well-qualified teachers, they can create an amazing atmosphere for this lesson and students can gradually find it interesting.