Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

Wouldn’t it be lovely to have a dolbo dog as a pet? However, this wouldn’t be possible as this dog breed is now extinct. This is the fate of many other animals as they are on the verge of extinction. Many reasons could be attributed to their disappearance. However, some measures can be put in place to stop this negative occurrence.

One of the main reasons for the disappearance of some types of animals is the indiscriminate killing of these animals for their products. Man relies on these products to survive, but repeated consumption of such products, with no plans to replenish their source, leads to a decline in the number of these animals, hence their extinction. For instance, the uncontrolled killing of elephants in Africa for their tusks lead to a drastic decline in their numbers, currently making them an endangered species. Additionally, the destruction of the natural habitat of some animals to pave the way for human settlements leads to them migrating to unfavorable environments that can negatively affect reproduction, thus reducing their numbers. Deforestation in the Amazon rainforest to create space for urbanization is an example of this, as many bird species are facing extinction as a result of this.

To solve this problem, the government has to put in place policies that discourage such indiscriminate killing of animals. Laws should be created to protect endangered animals and sanctions made for defaulters. Such laws which were made against poachers in Africa, in which offenders get as much as 18 years jail sentence, have seen the population of rhinos increase over the last 30 years. Similarly, a law can also be put in place to discourage deforestation. Consequently protecting these animals’ natural habitat.

To sum up, a lot of animals are at risk of being extinct because they are killed indiscriminately and their natural habitats are being destroyed to create more land for man’s use. This can however be addressed if the government puts in place laws that protect their lifes and habitats.