Some students believe that it is better to take one year off between finishing high school and going to university, in order to travel or to work for example.

There is an opinion that after finishing high school, taking a gap year is a good idea. Students could spend their time travelling or studying abroad. In my opinion, it is better to take a gap year.

One of the main reasons why I agree is that it helps students decide on a career. Many students who finish 11th grade have problems choosing their future job, and a gap year can be a good solution to this problem. During this time, they could continue studying, improve their knowledge, and get into a top university.

Another reason is that it would help students save money for university. After finishing school, many students do not have enough money to pay for their studies, so they can work during their gap year. It also teaches them how to manage their finances and become more independent and responsible. Moreover, it helps them get into their desired university.

On the other hand, if students do not plan their gap year well, they may waste their time. They might lose motivation, especially if they start working. For example, my brother took a gap year last year. He started working and earning money, but after finishing his gap year, he lost his motivation to study and wasted a lot of time.