Some students take a year off between school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Between high school and university, some high school seniors would rather taketaking a gap year in order to enrich life experiences or exploreexploring other cultures. Although there are many negative effects of taking a gap year, it seems to me that these drawbacks are overshadowed by its benefitsbenefit.

Admittedly, the cons/ merits attached to students takingtake a year off before pursuingpursue college are definedare define. The serious disadvantagedisadvantages of deferringdefer university enrollment for one year is many students get used to working or traveling and refuse to return to a life of study after a gap year. This is because they think tertiary education is not worth the effort, so they go straight into unstable jobs. Another negative aspect of taking a gap year would be students may fall behind in their studiesstudy, which could possibly reduce theirthier self-confidence and be under feel a huge amount of pressure. In addition, high school seniors find it hard to acquireaccquire knowledgeknowlegde after a long time being away from formal schooling.

Although spendingspend a year off has many disadvantages, there still exist some noteworthy advantages. What makes taking a gap year important is it providesprovide students a massive opportunity to learn new things outside of their school environmentenviroment, which will help them consider what they want to do and be better prepared for the future. Moreover, the gap year is also a wonderful time for seniors to know more things about themselves and explore their own passionspassion, there by identifyingidentify a suitable career path. An additionaladditonal advantageadvantages of havinghave a long break is students can attend vocational training courses, which help them accumulateaccamulate many of work experiences. FurthermoreFuthermore, joining these courses can save a lot of time and money and be also a great opportunityoppoturnity for them to reduce the financial burden on their parents. to earn money sooner. NotwithstandingNot withstandingwith standing the aforementioned cons associated with taking a gap year, I i am convinced that they are eclipsed by the following pros.

In conclusion, spendingspend a year off has both advantages and disadvantages but i still believe that gap – year takers are brought having a gap year brings a large amount of benefits to students.