Some students tend to play computer games rather than do sports. Why is this? What can be done to tackle the problem?

In modern society, some students prefer playing computer games over doing sports. There might be numerous reasons behind this tendency, but I believe that the main factors are the tremendous attractiveness of video games and the absence of viable actions to promote sports among young people. Therefore, the possible solution to the problem can be achieved if sports-popularizing policies are implemented.

It goes without saying that in the digital age, numerous computer games have been developed, which with the advances in technologies entice people, especially youngsters, to spend more time playing video games. This, in turn, leads to the decreasing popularity of physical activity and promotes sedentary lifestyle among members of society. Furthermore, the popularization of sports is miserable in many countries as there are no efficient policies developed to change this. The worst thing is that this not only makes students reluctant to do some exercise, but also contributes to health problems, such as obesity and cardiac diseases.

To tackle this issue, responsible bodies, particularly parents and governments, should develop targeted policies in order to increase student’s awareness of the harmful effects of computer games and make sports a more common aspect of their lives. Only a joint effort can change the situation, so the actions should be legalized at least at a regional level. This can be, for example, various sports competitions at schools, which are massively introduced in Russia. These policies are aimed at encouraging young people to participate in sports more actively. However, not only this can help to solve the issue, since parents must put restrictions on their children’s computers usage.

To sum up, the problem of excessive video gaming among students is crucial these days. The main contributors to this are the attractiveness of games over sports and the lack of reasonable actions in this area. For the issue to be solved, efficient policies, such as the greater number of sports competitions within schools, can be introduced.