Some think that governments should support retired people financially while others believe they should take care of themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are different views about whether or not governments should provide retirees with financial aid. While it is argued that these people should depend on their savings accounts, I would side with the idea of the councils supporting them financially.

On the one hand, those who oppose governments assisting retired people with money point out their possibility to have personal savings for retirement. It is true that these people did undergo a period of working time, and people suggest that they should have saved a considerable amount of money to prepare for their retirement. Many programmers, for example, who used to work for major enterprises like Google or Apple can secure excellent wage packages, which means they can obtain good standard of life if they have suitable plans for savings during their working time. Furthermore, it is also suggested that it is a national burden if the coucils spend a share of money on providing the elderly with monetary assistance, as this money should instead be invested in other necessary national sectors, such as education, healthcare, infrastructure, and security. These investments will result in the improved standard of living of the general population, fostering the economic growth and the country’s prosperity as a whole.

On the other hand, I would contend that retired citizens should better be supported with the financial aid of the state because of their contributions through tax revenues and the fact that they need to meet the basic demands of their retired life. These people, before retirement, used to contribute to the general development of the whole country by working industriously and paying considerable tax to the nation’s budget. It, thus, is justifiable for the council to financially support these retirees so that they can afford their basic necessities, such as housing, food, and healthcare, and therefore lead a good life. As the overall prices for necessary needs are increasingly growing, retired residents may fail to manage paying for these sectors, which means government aid is essential for maintaining their quality of life.

In conclusion, while it is believed that governments should not provide retirees with any monetary aids as they can take care of themselves, I do side with the idea of council helping them financially because of their previous contribution and the needs for them to fulfill some basic demands.