Some think that governments should tax unhealthy foods to encourage people to eat healthier. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some people that a tax should be laid by the government on foods that are unhealthy in order to make them eat better alternatives. I completely disagree with this statement and my opinion will be discussed further.

The primary reason behind taxation on junk foods being a bad idea is that, most people who frequently eat this stuff are already in a mental loop where their cravings lead them to have it; hence paying an additional amount would not seem like a thought worth battling against. For instance, in many households, children are bribed by offering them a chocolate, cake etc. at the end of their meal so, they will finish the homemade food easily, thereby conditioning them towards bad food choices. Moreover, this thinking in a way forces individuals towards change and that always lasts when, instead, it is a choice of one’s own.

Apart from this, individuals who live alone and have nil cooking skills, they find it easier to grab a bite from outside as it saves them the time and effort required. For example, youngsters today, are usually studying or working away from their home. Additionally, these are frequently eaten by a middle/upper class population. All of these categories of people are likely to keep choosing unhealthier alternatives because of the convenience and taste. Thus, making this move ineffective.

In conclusion, from my perspective, higher authorities taxing fast food would not make much of a difference in the society because of all the aforementioned reasons.