Some think that only those people who have worked for a company for many years should be promoted to a higher position. Do you agree?

It is argued that promotions should be offered only to senior employees who dedicated many years to the same company. I disagree with this viewpoint, arguing that promotions should be offered based on skills and contributions, as otherwise, it could discourage many young employees.

While senior employees should undoubtedly have the opportunity to reach higher positions of the company, offering promotions to individuals based solely on the number of years they have worked could unfairly limit young team members getting career opportunities. Highly likely, some young individuals put greater contributions to complete their tasks and achieve targets given by their managers, thus empowering the business values. Therefore, consideration of juniors’ commitment as much important as seniors’ dedication, and developing an equal process to access high-level positions for both juniors and seniors based on their skills and contributions could be fair. For example, a study by the University of California highlighted that in the modern era, young individuals allocate more time to accomplish their professional career goals rather than pursuing personal achievements.

Moreover, another significant drawback of offering promotions only to people who have been many years in the same company it it could discourage junior employees because although they do not have industrial experience as their seniors, they might be equipped with new skills and ideas. If the company takes their ideas and skills to accomplish its goals while neglecting career opportunities for juniors, it can adversely affect their career prospects, creating issues in their professional and personal lives. For example, it has been proven that nowadays, employees not only consider wages of their employment, but also they expect job satisfaction from different areas such as opportunities for career development and good working environment.

In conclusion, even though individuals who have worked fewer years for a particular company might be less trustworthy, they should be equally promoted as they have up-to-date knowledge and skill sets. Besides that, this will encourage them to apply their abilities to the fullest, thus contributing to the company’s prosperity.