Some think that people should not change their jobs while others think they should because it brings advantages for themselves, company and society. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

There is one school of thought that employees should remain in the same job for a long time, while others argue that job hopping can be beneficial for individuals, companies and society. While there are merits to both sides of the argument, I tend to agree more with the view that changing jobs at a suitable frequency is crucial to career development.

On the one hand, due to the psychological rules, people often avoid stepping out of their comfort zone and are reluctant to start over in an unfamiliar environment. As a result, the familiarity with the old workspace is preferable rather than readjusting to a new environment while it requires considerable effort to rebuild relationships and adapt to new working conditions. Also, regarding the company’s benefit, having long-term employees effectively contributes to the reduction of training time and job handovers, as experienced employees already possess the necessary experience and expertise. This would result in higher work productivity, helping the company develop better thanks to a stable workforce.

On the other hand, despite the idealistic nature of staying at the same job for a long time, its actual application could bring about many obstacles and problems. To be specific, remaining in the same position for many years may lead to career stagnation, as employees are exposed to fewer challenges and opportunities to develop new skills. By changing the working environment, individuals increase their competitiveness in the job market and enhance their long-term earning potential. If individuals earn higher salaries and career advancement such as better positions or improved working conditions, the companies also keep a fresh and innovative workspace.

In conclusion, although there are mixed opinions on determining whether the idea of job hopping should be taken, I believe that the ultimate decision needs to be made according to the demand and career path of each individual. If people value self development and innovation in work life, trying different jobs and positions is a superior option. In contrast, staying at the same job is inevitably the best option for people with a stable life.