Some think that people should not change their jobs while others think they should because it brings advantages for themselves, company and society. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

It is believed by some people that people should change jobs often, whereas others argue that it is beneficial for people to stick to one job for life, grab a pension and retire. This essay intends to discuss both perspectives. While I believe that frequent job-hopping is not good, a job change, once or twice on one’s whole career span is acceptable.

On the one hand, those who favour changing jobs every few years, give their reasons as follows. firstly, changing jobs can help a person to develop new skills and different types of experience. For example, when people change their jobs, they are pushed out of their comfort zone and they are pushed to learn new routines. Secondly, it keeps things interesting and prevents work from becoming boring and monotonous. It is an opportunity to figure out which type of employers and company culture suit people the best.

On the other hand, there are many reasons why some people support sticking to single job forever. The main reason is that it increases job security in today’s time, when job is at an all-time high. Employes are not only more likely to retain workers who have been working longer but they are also hesitant to hire people, who have a history of changing job frequently. Sticking to one job also helps in better work-life balance. In other words, with time people become more comfortable with their work responsibilities and thus they are able to devote more time to their personal life.

While I believe changing jobs once or twice in career span is certainly beneficial, I also believe that frequent job hopping can be detrimental. Apart from the benefits mentioned above, the varied experience from working in different positions and companies makes people more adaptable and flexible. It also makes more valuable to employers and thus they earn higher paychecks. However, if people change their jobs too often, employers start questioning their loyalty. So, people should avoid changing jobs to frequently.

To sum up, an occasional job change is understandable, but hopping from one job to the other every year or two, is surely not good for the employees and employers both.