Some today argue that schools are no longer necessary because children can learn so much from the internet and be educated at home.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that primary education is irrelevant as students are able to study from online resources at home. I firmly disagree with the notion for reasons which will be elaborated on in this essay.

Acquiring formal education is very crucial for children because it offers standardized quality. Primary education institutions have been improving their curriculum since they have been established for many years. Thus, not only do they fully understand students’ education needs, but they also have years of experience in teaching children. For example, the Indonesian government is continuously encouraging school teachers to improve their knowledge and teaching skills by providing training programs that are usually conducted every year. Gathering educators and education stakeholders in one place annualy enables goverment to collect opinions and perspective to further enhance the education quality of the country. As a result, students will gain the best quality that has been standardized nationally.

Additionally, it is neccessary for young people to learn at schools rather than only gaining knowledge from the internet. This is primarily because the curriculum that school offers is more structured and sustainable, which means students will study the subjects sequentially and will able to continue to the next chapter only if they pass and understand the material. This regulation serves full control of students’ learning progress. In contrast, when children learn independently on the internet, it is rather difficult to compile the study plan and supervise the learning progress.

In conclusion, despite the advancement of technology that enables student to study autodidactly, I believe that it is still necessary for children to study at school since it ensures the education quality and mantain the suqential learning.