Some universities have started offering micro-credentials instead of traditional degrees. What are the advantages and disadvantages of micro-credentials compared to traditional degrees? Which is a better fit for the current job market?

The number of micro-credentials has risen in recent years. Although some believe that traditional university degree furnishes students with a broader education, others point out that skill-based programs are more effective in terms of employment because they target only essential competencies.

To begin with, a large number of people argue that higher education is more advantageous than micro-credential programs because university graduates hold a wider range of career opportunities. In theory, learners gain broad theoretical knowledge across the field. As a result, they can determine the direction for improving their knowledge in practice. For example, a person who has a diploma in computer science can get a job in software development, data analytics, cybersecurity, digital marketing and so on.

Another point of view is that micro-credentials are beneficial because proficiency in particular abilities is more vital for securing a specific job than having a degree. It is true since popularity of skill-based hiring has significantly increased recently. Therefore, candidates must possess deep knowledge of necessary skills to be more competitive during the application process. For instance, a junior python developer – one of the most common vacancies of last few years – requires expertise in a single programming language as well as other python-related technologies.

To sum up, many individuals maintain that traditional degree programs provide a broad education. Other people believe that micro-credential programs supply students with a faster and more direct way to gain a job. I agree with the latter point as it is valuable to be proficient in a certain set of skills for employment in the current job market.