Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time ad attention to studying for a qualification

The university is the key in opening the door for the horizon. It is believed by some that students should be free to pursue concurrent subjects for a better future, while others argue that they should focus heavily on career qualifications. However, in my perspective, it is crucial to unwrap these limitations and provide opportunities for students to explore academic areas according to their wishes.

To begin with, the more we learn about a subject, the more complex it becomes. Gaining in depth, specialist knowledge of an area requires a certain capacity of focus and dedication. If adolescents who are studying science and math attempt to learn minor fields of study such as music or art alongside their major, their attention may be distracted, and they may not be able to achieve their forthcoming goals. Thus, focusing on one field contributes to reaching their career objectives.

In contrast, according to some people, gaining huge knowledge on different subjects, creates a well-rounded person who is convenient in problem solving in future life. If one is armed in various qualities such as logical thinking, caring, sharing and resilience, they can easily face challenges and barriers in shaping their upcoming lifestyle. Furthermore, additional knowledge can serve as an extra qualification for pursing a part-time job. Getting an extra salary, in addition to the main job, would be a great financial support to a better life.

In conclusion, while focusing on the prioritized subject is not unnecessary, I believe that university students should have the freedom to come out from curiosity and learn beyond their main area to promote their potential. This will definitely light their path of destiny.