Space exploration cost tax payers an exorbitant amount of money each year. What are the advantages and disadvantages of spending money on space exploration?

Nowadays, more and more countries have been directing their research fields toward space exploration which requires an astronomical amount of money. This essay will consider the positive and negative impacts of this.

One notable benefit is that spending money on the space discovery process can lead to an unprecedented improvement in science contributing to economic development. It is a crystal-clear truth that the more scientific research is done, the more investors and brain drain come to the country. Therefore, a country that leads to space exploration and other scientific examinations actually triggers economic growth thanks to investment and a qualified workforce. In addition, it is a great way to not only explore new species but also understand the universe and our world to conduct studies about space which can create solutions to the environmental problems we are facing today.

On the other hand, concerns have been raised about the cost of this exploratory posing an economic burden for citizens who particularly are supposed to live under poor conditions. Considering this situation, demanding additional money from people through taxes for funding space exploration or using collected taxes for this research instead of ameliorating primary services such as health and education can have a more detrimental impact on society and people’s living circumstances than beneficial effect, particularly in undeveloped and developing countries like Africa or Brazil. Also, it can entail a space pollution risk due to space junk or parts of the rocket launched into space.

As a result, the inquiries about space that have become popular recently have a favorable contribution to not only scientific knowledge but economic progress while there are negative outcomes arising from its high cost and dirtiness in space.