Space exploration is a waste of money. Governments should focus more on addressing public problems instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that government funds are being allocated more to space exploration programs. While some argue that the funds could be used more efficiently to deal with some notable issues such as poverty as well as climate difficulties on Earth, I firmly believe that it is wise to think about countrymen’s basic rights, safety, and priorities first, as it is more vital for the nation to survive.

To begin with, a key reason why I support this view is that human beings are the most prominent asset of a country. Without people, a country cannot be conceived. Therefore, it is crucial to think about their needs first. This is largely because a nation which is full of poverty cannot demand the minimum basic requirements of their livelihoods. In particular, they face numerous problems such as food scarcity, medicine paucity, lack of treatments, broken houses, or torn clothes, and so on. Therefore, it is evident that it is the first duty of the authority of a country to address these kinds of problems earlier.

Another crucial factor to consider is that every year a large amount of funds should be kept for the prevention of and protection from natural disasters. Not only would this be a backup for risk management against natural catastrophes, but it might also be beneficial to save people’s lives during any pandemics. As a result, there would be enough supplies of required resources. So, there would be no need to seek funds or debt from another country.

Admittedly, some may argue that the vast investments in such space programs by the government are not more significant than spending on its own nation’s betterment. In fact, it is unwise to invest in such sectors without securing people’s demands. However, in reality, it is important for a country to have its own space exploration programs to deal with external animosity or wars, but not prior to its people’s well-being.

In conclusion, although it is not minor to invest heavily in such programs, I firmly believe that the nation’s safety should be the first key concern to the governing body, rather than other developments to major sectors.