Spending free time playing video games has become common among young people. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the young usually spend their leisure time with video games. Although video games can relax them after a demanding day, video games directly contribute to screen addiction, so this essay will argue that advantages do not outweigh disadvantages.

One of the positive sides is a comfortable ambiance after an intense work or study day. Video games can lead to reduction of stress level, if person is fond of playing video games. Thanks to modern era, there are many kinds of video games, which can also be beneficial for young generation. For instance, my brother learns English from video games as he talks with foreign players, so it can also culminate in new acquaintances and skills.

On the other hand, video games have also drawbacks which stagnate people’s status. Undoubtedly, video games evoke screen addiction, many people spend their time by playing video games. Unfortunately, many of them are unuseful and even harmful for sanity and physical health. Many individuals can not realize how screen addiction is dangerous, initially it harms vision due to bright screen that leads to dry eyes, secondly rays from telephone prevent people to sleep several hours that cause insomnia. Additionally all of them contribute to sedentary lifestyle. People do not count other leisure activities, such as jogging, yoga etc. Because sedentary lifestyle is a primary key to cardiovascular diseases, hypertension and obesity. These physical reasons also affect people mentally and lead to stress and even depression. So, I believe that these negative sides directly outweigh benefits of video games.

In conclusion, in spite of dopamine level which is released due to video games in order to make us happy, there are many urgent consequences which exacerbate people both mentally and physically.