Spending time online has affected the communication skills of young people both positively and negatively.Discuss the effects of increased online activity on communication skills

There is widespread belief that excessive screen time brings good and bad impacts to the communication skills of young generation. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss about the effects of this phenomenon in both sides, positive and negative.

To begin with, there are several benefits to improve communication abilities for youngsters who spend their time on virtual activities. For example, through social media, people with a young age will have opportunities to meet other individuals from different countries. They will try to learn another language to keep in touch with their foreign friends. This situation can help them enhance their skills about how to build a good relationship with other people who come from different cultures. Moreover, online platforms provide dozens of media for the young generation to improve their communication skills. For instance, there are many videos on social media that show loads of methods to increase public speaking ability among youngsters. Through these videos the younger can learn it due to the fact that public speaking is also a part of communication.

On the other hand, excessive screen time also brings a negative side for youngsters. For instance, the younger people do not have much time to build relationships with others. They tend to spend their time in their own room rather than encounter with their families, neighbors and peers. As a result they will face a complexity to start the conversation with others and they cannot adapt well in social lives.

In conclusion, spending a lot of time on virtual activity can support the younger generation to develop their communication and relation with other people from other nations. However, it can cause a negative effect such as find difficulties to start a conversation with others due to the fact that youth do not have time to socialize.