Spending time online has affected the communication skills of young people both positively and negatively.Discuss the effects of increased online activity on communication skills

The digitalization of this era has made an increase in the amount of time young people spend online. As a result, this tendency is argued to have both an impact on the communication skills of young individuals. This essay will explore both the potential positive and detrimental effects of increased online activity.

On one hand, spending time online can make communication easier and more accessible. Whereas before people were limited to calling one another through a landline, young people now have the ability to not only call people wherever and whenever they please, but they also get access to these features through video calls and texting. People now also have the ability to make connections that otherwise wouldn’t be possible through online forums and friendship or dating sites.

On the other hand, although increased online activity makes it more convenient and accessible to meet or contact other people online, it can actually isolate the younger generation from one another. Instead of spending time with their loved ones, young people can instead spend this time playing video games, watching movies, or on online forums since the internet now is so accessible. Other than this, if young people end up meeting the wrong crowd or propaganda online, this can have detrimental effects to their psyche and communication skills. An example of this is Elliot Rodger, a young man who ended up going on a mass shooting in his local college from being depressed by his lack of social life and girlfriend. Spending all his time online and on negative forums initiated his actions.

In conclusion, increased online activity has had a significant impact on the way people communicate with one another, both in positive and negative ways. Although spending time online can help people meet new people and conveniently connect with one another, the detrimental effects of spending time online, such as isolation and meeting the wrong people, also need to be taken into consideration and have initiatives done to prevent it.