Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the era of globalization, communication which plays an integral role in each individual’s life can exist in different forms, typically, which are spoken and written ones. Written communication is supposed to be less powerful than spoken communication. From my perspective. I partially agree with the statement.

Spoken words are better than written ones in some aspects. Spoken communication contains more than words. In addition to ideas speakers are conveying, listeners easily acquire a deep understanding of their messages through not only oral languages but also facial expressions or body languages. By constrast, in written communication, it is less likely for readers to thoroughly comprehend the feelings of writers beside words and symbols. For example, any negotiations must be carried out in-person rather than in written words. It creates favorable conditions for parties to have a better understanding of the partner’s attitudes towards the deal and promptly adjust strategies.

Nevertheless, written communication is more effective than oral communication in some particular contexts. It can be said that this form of communication ensures confidentiality and value of documents that cannot be determined only by oral one. For instance, in business, after negotiations, both parties are obliged to compose the contracts with full terms and conditions that would be counted for nothing in spoken words. In addition, only written documents are accepted in law instead of unverified words.

In summary, spoken words are not always better than written ones and otherwise. From my point of view, it depends on the particular context to decide which form of communication is more effective. While oral communication should be prioritized for situations requiring us to use expressions, the other one is more favorable in business or law.