Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Speaking and writing are the most prevalent methods of communication used by humans. While some believe that the former is more impactful, I contend that they are equally vital in terms of advantages.

Granted, there are reasons why spoken communication can be much more effective than written communication. The primary reason is that when an individual speaks with cadence, the information conveyed can easily capture listeners’ attention and grant the speaker a commanding presence. This is particularly relevant for those with short attention spans or in circumstances where more of the speaker’s personality needs to be exhibited. The incredible speaking style of Martin Luther King, a famous American political figure, serves as a prime example. Although his historical speech, associated with the famous phrase “I have a dream,” was delivered decades ago, his eloquent and articulate speaking style (by intentionally using pauses, varying intonation, and rhythm) has made the speech powerful and memorable even by today’s standards. Without such a unique way of transmitting information, it is doubtful that such a speech could have resonated well with the public at that time, or that he would have been seen as a trustworthy individual. Given this justification, it does seem reasonable to claim that spoken communication is more powerful than written communication.

Nevertheless, to claim that spoken communication is better than written communication is to neglect the sheer power that written information has. First, because reading enables readers to keep track of information at their own pace, written information can be easier to follow and more comfortable for readers to process. Moreover, while it is true that an eloquent speaker can pique the interest of an entire audience more easily using his speech instead of publishing a long-written passage, the information conveyed can be easily forgotten immediately afterward, or perhaps only the main points can be retrieved by listeners. As a result, it is evident that written information fosters a much more profound way of retaining information, allowing for a more comprehensive understanding and longer retention of knowledge. Clearly, the power of written communication is significant and should not be overshadowed by spoken communication.

In conclusion, while speaking is an effective medium that can grant its users a powerful presence and command attention, it is by no means better than writing, in which information is much easier to follow and retain.