STEM subjects (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics) are becoming increasingly popular among students. What are the reasons for this trend?

Nowadays it has become incredibly widespread to choose STEM subjects instead of liberal arts or others among students. Despite the fact, that it is common to consider that STEM subjects are more complicated, more and more students tend to prefer these trajectory of education. This essay will observe the different causes of this tendency.

First of all, the economy stagnation is the worldwide issue, which is induced by the shortage of innovations, this shortage in turn leads to high demand in employers, who specialised in STEM subjects. Subsequently, strong demand stimulates improvements in working conditions in this area such as: high salaries, social benefits and good insurance, which are attractive for students. Consequently, students are choosing to study technology, engineering subjects due to perspective of acquiring better career prospects, well-payed jobs and life stability. For instance, there is a deficit of IT-specialists in Russia, that is why governments has recently offered them different social benefits such as deferment from military service and high salaries. This approuch led to increasing numbers of digital science’s enrollers.

Another reason for this tendency is an oversupply of people with a liberal arts education. The more people gets humanities science’s education , the more compeitive this field becomes. So, in order to avoid high competition in the labor market more students started to choose STEM subjects instead of liberal arts.

To summing up, the main reasons of growing popularity of STEM subjects among the students are better career prospects, improvements in working conditions in these area, connected with high demand in technology innovations and high competition in humanities field.