Students are becoming more and more reliant on computers. What are some of the problems associated with reliance on computers, and what are some of the possible solutions?

As time goes on, an increasing number of students are depending more on computers. The problems relating to this are that if these students stop having access to their computer that can halt their learning process. Also, using computers more and more will lead to less social interactions between students. The solutions can be taking hand-written notes in addition to having students do in person classes in school.

If anything happens to students’ computers that will lead to them not having access to their studying materials, thus not being able to learn or be productive. Furthermore, using computers to study especially with the prevalence of online classes will lead students spending less time seeing their peers and will affect the soft-skills, like how to empathize with others. For example, a recent 2021 study that monitored students doing Zoom classes after the spread of coronavirus found that these children had 63% less tendency to interact with their peers unprovoked.

This can be mitigated by the students taking class-notes on paper notes books instead of using software such as Microsoft Word, and by having mandatory in-person classes in schools or universities to have these students interact with each other. For example, AL-Najah University in Nablus Palestine forces students who take online courses to do at least 1 day in-person classes at the university.

In conclusion, while students using computers can pose problems. Such as, not having access to the computers can negatively affect the learning process and it can lead these students to develop more antisocial tendencies. Though, this can be dealt with by having these pupils use paper notes and forcing them to do in-person classes at their respective learning institution.