Students in school and university learn far more from lessons with their teachers compared to other sources, such as the television or the internet. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, there are many information sources such as the television, the internet, and online video lessons and they help students with complex topics. However, some people consider that students learn much more from tutor or teachers in schools. I firmly concur with this opinion because teachers have a background in pedagogy, and this provides various ways of teaching so that their student can understand certain topic or receive feedback , while students who use online platforms do not have a person who can control their progress or point out their mistakes.

There are numerous benefits from lessons with teachers in comparison with self-study such as educational plan , feedback , and encouraging student’s self-esteem. The primary reason why such benefits are absent in self-study due to a lack of professional knowledge. Teachers, with their degree in pedagogy, employ various teaching methods that help students absorb educational material more effectively. Furthermore, if teacher don’t have qualifications in their subject or pedagogy , their students’ progress remains the same. As a result, students with teachers without qualification are on the same level with students who have self-study , so students should employ tutors with background in order to learn far more.

Since the invention of the internet and other online sources of information, scores of students have improved due to accessibility of educational materials with explanations, although, their grades remain lower than scores of students with tutors . This is because while there are materials for self-study , there are no programs for testing knowledge or providing appropriate feedback to identify their mistakes. Testing and find out gaps in knowledge are also crucial factor for success in education. Developing only their strong points does not lead to excellent academic performance, while neglecting weak areas hinders progress. For example, three-quarters of the scholarships of Narxoz university were awarded to students with tutors, and only a few self-studying students received scholarships due to their efforts in addressing their weaknesses.

In conclusion, students with a professional tutor will learn far more due to the qualifications of a teacher. Moreover, scores of students who rely on websites or online platforms tend to have lower scores compared to those with teachers , as they lack feedback and fail to address their weaknesses.