Students should be primarily taught academic subjects so that they can pass exams, and practical skills such as cooking should not be taught.

In contemporary society, there is an ongoing debate about the role of teaching students only about academic subjects instead of practical skills like cooking. While the benefits of learning academic subjects helps to pass exams, I believe that practical skills also should be taught because it helps in their daily life.

Without a doubt, academic subjects play a crucial role in their academic achievements. As long as young people start to learning theoretical subjects like chemistry, biology, math, and history, students are more susceptible to acquire knowledge and retain information thereby increasing the potential of passing exams and entering universities. As a result, students are able to enhance future career prospects, access high-quality resources, and find secure jobs, which improves them frugally. A case in point is my country of Uzbekistan, where students already studying academic subjects and achieving more secure jobs.

However, in my view, practical skills should also be incorporated in the school curriculum. If young people learn practical lessons at school, they are more susceptible to acquire real-world skills such as cooking as well as home maintainance, thereby encouraging self-reliant, independence, and adaptable, which helps them to make considered decision and come to sensible conclusions. This is especially beneficial for students without supportive families or social strong networks since they have to organize their affairs and handle their problems independently without support.

In conclusion, although academic subjects are essential for promoting educational attainment and professional advancement, I believe that school systems should also equip students with practical abilities to nurture maturity and independence.