Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what do you agree or disagree?

In our society, many people hold the view that being taught scholastic knowledge in order to acquire qualifications is better for learners than learning soft skills such as cooking or dressing. While I agree that perceiving specialized knowledge is crucial, I am of the opinion that it is essential for young learners to develop their interpersonal skills.

To begin with, I concur with the opinion that juveniles ought to be educated in scholarly understanding at school. After being equipped with enough professional knowledge about dream jobs or fields, students are likely to get more job opportunities and improve their career prospects as well. Specifically, for a doctor, which job requires in-depth specialized understanding, so learners who want to become a doctor or nurse have to meet these requirements in some particular subjects such as chemistry, biology, and mathematics. Moreover, to obtain outstanding educational outcomes with flying colors and open doors to promotion, scholastic knowledge is indispensable. This is because it is considered one of the essential baggages for life for not only the young but also adults.

However, I believe that soft skills are still extremely necessary for students to learn. Primarily, students can be fostered a well-rounded development due to the fact that they have a chance to participate in some activities related to cooking or communication. For instance, in the year 2023, an English debate contest about school violence, which has been a major concern in recent years, was held in Le Quy Don high school for students in grades 10, 11, and 12 to express their opinions about this phenomenon. Through that competition, participants could boost their communication skills and their confidence as well. When learners broaden their horizons about the importance of arts and sports, teachers can be their companions on the way that they nurture their talents in specific fields. From that time forward, students will be people who are willing to bring benefits to society.

In conclusion, while I consent to the importance of academic understanding, I believe that soft skills such as communication, cooking, or dressing are also necessary for students. Schools should facilitate for them to balance their educational outcomes and interpersonal skills development by organizing more competitions related to creativity or fashion and academic contests.